I Found One Of My Psychiatric Patient’s Journals, What I Read Made Me Quit My Whole Career

Thought Catalog

Socar MylesSocar Myles

I was a psychiatrist at a prison. If it sounds blunt and to the point, it is. It’s a no-bullshit kind of job and I took it very seriously because you could be the one who makes or breaks a person and you don’t want to be the guy to have anything come back on you. If you paid attention to the first sentence I wrote here, I say I was a psychiatrist at a prison. The reason why I stress this is because I quit way before I would have reaped any benefits for retirement, before official job security took care of me for the rest of my life. Yes, the job I applied for straight out of college and worked at for years became something that made me weak to get up in the morning years later — when I met one man and heard one…

View original post 1,343 more words

Leave a Reply

